RSS

A Review of Three Books on Eternal Lostness

08 Feb

Friends:

I’ve recently reviewed three books on eternal lostness for the Emmaus Journal.  The review is found below.  The book that really concerns me is Sharon Baker’s book Razing Hell.  Please feel free to post your comments below.

Click on the following link for my review:

review of three books on hell – pdf

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “A Review of Three Books on Eternal Lostness

  1. Brian

    February 8, 2012 at 11:29 am

    I am very weary of people that write books about what the Bible says……………I study the Bible for myself and God’s Spirit is what guides me. But Jesus’ ministry was not occupied with telling people about Hell……Jesus’ focus was on the kingdom of God…..so He spent His ministry on telling people about it.

     
    • larrydixon

      February 8, 2012 at 12:42 pm

      Were you able to read my review, Brian? Just wondering what you thought. I believe our primary source for the doctrine of hell is Jesus Himself. Let me know what you think. Blessings. Larry

       
      • Brian

        February 8, 2012 at 1:34 pm

        Yes, I did read your review. But like I said, I seldom read religious books and I am never( except for one book) the habit of recommending authors’ books. Why? Because in the vast majority of cases those books are filled with opinions that the author try to use the scriptures to justify. Too often some take one of two scriptures in the Bible and present it as if that was what the writer was mainly concentrating on or talking about throughout his life.

        I choose to focus on the gospel that Jesus preached rather than try to scare people into repenting. Repentance is something that God grants…….it cannot be forced or cajoled. People who tend to preach/ talk or even write about Hell tend to know little to nothing about the gospel Jesus preached. It is the gospel Jesus said we should preach to the world, and which the all the apostles preach…….not Hell. True and genuine repentance is not motivated by fear of Hell.

         
  2. larrydixon

    February 8, 2012 at 10:22 pm

    Thanks for your comments, Brian. Fortunately, I guess I’m an exception to your last sentence. Hell is precisely what God used to get me to repent and turn to Christ! Have a great day. Larry

     
  3. Brian

    February 8, 2012 at 10:56 pm

    This is the exactly why I don’t read or recommend Christian author’s books. So this means you did not heard the gospel when you repented because it is the gospel that Jesus preached and said, Repent and believe the gospel…..those who teach about Hell know little to nothing about what the gospel of the kingdom of God is…..which means they know little of what Jesus preached for over three years. And in regards to fear of Hell, the scripture says, Perfect love cast out fear.

    1 John 4:18 (ESV)
    18 There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love.

    Is the fear of Hell your motivation for obeying God or is it the love for God? The one that has been born of God has the mind of Christ and sees things the way God does, and does them because they desire to because of love.

     
  4. Anonymous

    February 14, 2012 at 1:43 pm

    Dr. Dixon,
    I enjoyed your reviews of the three books on lostness. I particularly enjoyed your B.D. message.
    however, I must ask you not to post a color picture of you sprinting to the finish line of the 5K. I had a sick feeling . I turned away quickly.
    Stan Baldwin
    Florence

     
    • larrydixon

      February 15, 2012 at 12:59 pm

      Dear Stan:
      Thanks for your comments! I must ask you not to post any more comments on my blog (just kidding). They gave me a sick feeling. I turned away quickly to think how I could creatively respond! Blessings. Larry

       
  5. Nathan Tumey

    March 2, 2012 at 3:15 am

    Larry, I’d love for you to someday tackle an issue that is of direct relevance to this discussion, but you (and others) seem to have avoided: The age of accountability.

    Somehow, it is a common belief among Christians that infant death (abortion, SIDS, etc) results in immediate access to Heaven. (in spite of a common belief that humanity is inherently fallen) This is logically inconsistent with your statements about Hell. Can I ask you what your opinions on this are? Does God really condemn babies to Hell? And if not, doesn’t that mean that some sort of “post-mortem” grace or salvation takes place?

    Thanks for your consideration of this question.

    Also, as I’ve pointed out before, I think that one of the bastions of Christian appologetics (C.S. Lewis) has far more in common with Rob Bell than with you in regards to his beliefs about Hell. I’m working through one of his books now (“The Problem of Pain”) and I’m realizing that many of his beliefs would be considered absolutely heretical by many Christians today!

     
  6. Brian

    December 25, 2012 at 7:46 pm

    Nathan Tumey, what you touched on is one of many things that a lot of pastors/Christians are unable to answer, and that is because they know very little of the scriptures. They simply use a few scriptures here and there in the Bible but basically ignore everything else, because everything else basically is a mystery to them. It’s a mystery because what they believe comes into conflict with the much of the scriptures, so they are unable to provide a Biblical answer to a question like yours.

    The Bible tells says that at death our spirit goes back to God. It does not matter if the person is an unrepentant sinner, a saint or an unborn fetus that was aborted. The Bible says that all those who have died will be resurrected but the saints will be resurrected first.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 426 other followers

