RSS

VANISHING PROBLEMS?

09 Aug

TV commercials crack me up!  After watching the video above, please permit me a few comments.

Wouldn’t it be great if all our annoyances, all our difficulties, just disappeared?

I thought about this the other say when I was reminded of what the Apostle Paul says in 2 Corinthians 12:

We’ll talk about this great text over the next several blogs, but a couple of questions for right now:

QUESTIONS:
1. Why don’t we have Paul’s perspective on our difficulties, weaknesses, etc.?
2. How did God use Paul’s challenges in his life — theologically?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2012 in 2 Corinthians 12

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “VANISHING PROBLEMS?

  1. John

    August 9, 2012 at 8:44 am

    Paul makes us believe that God spoke directly to him: ” My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness”.
    This reminded me of the saying: “The stars in this world are shining brightest in the greatest darkness”. Is this really what a God would need to make his power perfect?
    Larry,
    I think you have it all wrong if you think that it would be great if all our annoyances, all our difficulties would just disappear. I suggest you read Bertrand Russel’s “The Conquest of Happiness”. It is the challenges in life that makes life worthwhile to live. If it would not be for the occasional thunderstorm or the bad weather, we would not enjoy a perfect sunny day as much as we do. For me, a paradise on earth, with no challenges, no difficulties, no annoyances and no end, would be the ultimate in boredom.
    John

     
  2. Anonymous

    August 9, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    John: Thanks so much for your comments! I believe you’ve misunderstood my post. I agree that the challenges & difficulties of life give us an opportunity not to trust in our own resources, but in Him. That’s why I quoted 2 Corinthians 12, a remarkable passage from the Apostle Paul. Your remark that life without challenges would be boring reminds me of the late Isaac Isimov who thought heaven would be terribly boring. Hmmmm. John, don’t you long for the effects of sin (rape, murder, deceit, sacrificing others on the altars of ourselves, perversion, child abuse, etc.) to be OVER?! One day He will make all things right, will wipe away all tears for those who know Him through Christ. This will not be true for those who don’t know Him. Blessings. Larry

     
    • larrydixon

      August 9, 2012 at 2:49 pm

      Sorry, friends, that’s my comment above. Not sure why I came out as ‘Anonymous”!!!

       
  3. John

    August 9, 2012 at 9:00 pm

    Larry,
    You are fortunate to have 99% of your readers agreeing with anything you present. The other 1% will recognize platitudes for what they are.
    e.g.:
    “…life gives us an opportunity not to trust in our own resources…”,
    “…long for the effects of sin to be OVER..”
    “…One day He will make all things right……but only for those who know Him..”
    These are the kind of words that are interspersed in sermons. No wonder that I have not heard a good sermon yet !
    Apart from this, you have not answered my questions.
    1. Has God spoken directly to Paul ? (“but He said to me..”)
    2. Does God need weakness in mankind to assert that his power is perfect ?
    I am curious how you would answer such question if asked by your students.

    John

     
    • larrydixon

      August 10, 2012 at 6:15 am

      John:
      Just some brief comments —
      1. I’m not sure 99% of my readers agree with all I say. I sometimes am not sure I agree with me!
      2. I’d be interested in your definition of a “platitude.” I look at those statements you listed above as fundamental beliefs based on strong evidence of the truthfulness of the Bible. How could the question “Don’t you long for evil to be over?” be a platitude? I would think it more logical to call it a heart-cry. You’re certainly not satisfied with the moral status quo, are you?
      3. To your specific questions: Yes, I believe God the Holy Spirit guided Paul in what he wrote and that Jesus Himself spoke to Saul/Paul on the road to Damascus. If indeed the God of the Bible exists, what would be so difficult about that? But, no, God doesn’t need our weaknesses to show His perfect power. But we need our weaknesses to show us how foolish it is to trust in our own resources. And that’s where the good news of the gospel comes in.
      Blessings. Larry

       
      • John

        August 11, 2012 at 4:40 pm

        Larry,
        My definition of “platitude” only follows what is stated in dictionaries: “A platitude is a flat, trite, meaningless, biased, or prosaic statement, often presented as if it were significant and original.”

        Evil and Sin are corner stones on which your religious belief is founded. Both are very subjective and have different meanings in various cultures and at different times. You might be interested in reading Friedrich Nietzsche’s “Beyond Good and Evil”.

        I thought that Fundamentalists Protestants read the Bible as being literally absolute true. In this case, Paul’s statement is different from your interpretation. (only a minor point, not worth to argue about it more). However, your “But we need our weaknesses to show us how foolish it is to trust in our own resources” undermines our inherent potential to grow in spirit and mind.
        John

         

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 389 other followers

