RSS

2014 Study Leave!

31 Dec

Whoppee!  I’m on study leave.  A study leave (sometimes called KeynoteScreenSnapz026a “sabbatical”) is a semester with no teaching responsibilities at my seminary (Columbia International University Seminar and School of Ministry [our cheers at basketball games last longer than the games -- "Give me a 'C'!, etc.]).

A faculty member can apply for a study leave every 3 and 1/2 years or so and it must be approved.  For us at CIU, we are expected to engage in some form of cross-cultural ministry, and that’s part of the reason that I will be serving on an OM ship in Southeast Asia for a couple of weeks.  I’ve had a couple of study leaves at CIU and have been privileged to teach in India, Sri Lanka, and Moldova (a small and poor country in Russia).

Apart from my ministry in Southeast Asia this study leave, I have a bunch of writing projects that I want to complete.  I’m going to take a few of these blogs to describe some of my projects.

KeynoteScreenSnapz030The first project I need to complete is my book on Twelve Atheists Who Have Trusted Christ.  I have a book contract from Christian Focus Publishers in Scotland and need to work hard on this project.

My first chapter in the book is going to be entitled “C.S. Lewis: Mere Atheist.”  So, I’ll be researching Lewis’ journey through atheism to the gospel.

If you know of someone who would say they were atheistic before they believed the gospel, I would appreciate contact information.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 31, 2013 in C.S. Lewis

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “2014 Study Leave!

  1. John

    January 1, 2014 at 10:43 am

    Hello Larry,
    This is the first day of 2014 and provides me with a good opportunity to wish you and your family all the best in this New Year. It appears that you have a busy year ahead of you. Your trip to South East Asia will give you a view of a part of the world that is vastly different from your own environment. To be exposed to cultural differences helps to expand our mind. I hope you will enjoy it and come back with new vigor to pursue the various projects.
    All the Best,
    John

     
    • Dr. Larry Dixon

      February 1, 2014 at 8:31 pm

      Thanks for your comment, John. Interesting, but here in Singapore we just celebrated the Chinese New Year (so I’m not technically too late in responding to your comment!). Thank you for the good wishes for my trip. It’s been very enlightening. It has convinced me more than ever of God’s grace in sending His Son for my sins. Thanks again for your kind words. Larry

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 389 other followers

