RSS

Time for a Great Cartoon! (environmentalism)

26 Dec

Screen Shot 2014-12-14 at 8.01.35 AMWe are polluters at heart.  We pollute our environment, our culture, and ourselves.  My wife and I were watching a movie the other night (“Land of the Lost” with Will Farrell), and we were disgusted! Within the first few minutes, there were numerous vulgarities, sexual references, and even the inappropriate touching of . . .  (well, you can guess).  This is a movie rated PG-13.  We had to turn the movie off.

It’s one thing to criticize Hollywood for its pollution, but we watch and buy Screen Shot 2014-12-21 at 8.27.42 AMand rent, don’t we?  In my files I have a cartoon of a TV repairman holding up the cable to a lady’s TV and he says, “I’ve found the source of the stench, Ma’am.  It’s your cable TV!”

Your thoughts?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 26, 2014 in environmentalism, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Time for a Great Cartoon! (environmentalism)

  1. Stephen Lawrence

    December 26, 2014 at 1:44 pm

    Lots of truth in this. We are what we eat, or watch, or read. Our eyes are windows to our soul, and what we put into our souls comes back out of our mouths. Is it any wonder that half of our marriages end in divorce or that children are growing up feeling entitled to everything they see?

     
  2. john

    December 27, 2014 at 7:01 pm

    I started to watch the mini series “The Bible” but have given up before the movie was not even at the half way point. In an effort to free Lot, Abraham with very few followers slaughtered an overwhelming number of the enemy to free Lot and his wife. This of course was only possible with the help of God. This was too much for me, but I am sure that young children watching this gruesome slaughter will find it inspiring and will be encouraged in their belief that it is quite alright to kill as long as you have God on your side.

     
  3. Dr. Larry Dixon

    December 27, 2014 at 9:30 pm

    John: Glad to see your comment showing up on my blog again. I’m not sure what happened to them before. I certainly don’t want your perspective blocked. But it does appear that you are always looking for a reason to reject the God of the Bible. I read the story of God’s judgment on Sodom & Gomorrah quite differently than you, I guess. Help me understand the God you don’t believe in. I might just agree with you! Blessings. Larry

     
  4. john

    December 28, 2014 at 10:38 am

    Larry,
    The God you want me to help understand is your God. If you do not understand Him than we have this in common and I can not help you.
    My comment had nothing to do with this, but was more related to the pollution of the environment as referred to in your blog.
    If you think it is OK to show gruesome slaughters on TV programs, never mind in what context, than you should not complain of cultural pollution. We all play a role in making our environment better or worse. I like to making it better, and therefore I do object to graphic violence, regardless of context.
    John

     

Leave a Reply

 
