RSS

Time for a Great Cartoon! (nagging doubts)

25 Jan

Screen Shot 2014-12-12 at 7.27.29 AM

Do you ever have “nagging doubts”? The skeptic Bertrand Russell said, “The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt.” Yann Martel in the Life of Pi said, “If Christ spent an anguished night in prayer, if He burst out from the Cross, ‘My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?’ then surely we are also permitted doubt. But we must move on. To choose doubt as a philosophy of life is akin to choosing immobility as a means of transportation.”

May I suggest that doubt is like a fork in the road — One road of the fork leads to confident faith; the other fork leads to unbelief.  And unbelief is sin.

George Macdonald once said, A man may be haunted with doubts and only grow thereby in faith. Doubts are the messengers of the Living One to the honest. They are the first knock at our door of things that are not yet, but have to be, understood.” Os Guinness has a great article found here and entitled “I Believe in Doubt.”

How about you?  Do your doubts lead you to confident faith or immobile unbelief?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 25, 2015 in doubt

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Time for a Great Cartoon! (nagging doubts)

  1. john

    January 25, 2015 at 5:23 pm

    Larry,
    I would not have commented to this blog if you would not have specifically asked me to do so.
    For me “doubt” has no connection to faith at all. It is simple the quintessence of uncertainty. We have doubt about things of which we are not certain. If you happen to have doubts in the honesty of a person, how would you apply your statement ” doubt is like a fork in the road — One road of the fork leads to confident faith; the other fork leads to unbelief. And unbelief is sin.” ?? This, along with Mr Os Guinness “I believe in doubt” is only theological rhetoric without any substance.
    John

     
  2. Esther

    January 28, 2015 at 11:18 am

    I really appreciate the thoughts about doubt and the article attached. I think too many times we Christians are afraid to admit our doubts and are quick to judge others for their courage to share their doubts. I find that I have grown only when I admit my doubts to God and give Him an opportunity to show Himself to me. Honesty is the key to growth. I thank God for my doubts and pray for people to share them with…

     
  3. Dr. Larry Dixon

    January 29, 2015 at 6:23 am

    Esther: Thank you for your insights and honesty about doubt. Our churches need to be places where we can sort out our doubts and find certainty in the things that matter! Blessings. Larry

     
    • Esther

      January 29, 2015 at 8:35 am

      Amen!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
