RSS

Reflections on My 65th Birthday!

02 Feb

Wow. Hard to believe, but today I turn 65. I don’t feel 65. Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 8.51.10 AMWell, some parts of me feel 65, but most of me doesn’t. Age isn’t just a matter of a number, but reflects experiences, aches, and opportunities taken or squandered.

Don’t get me wrong — I thank the Lord every day for what He allows me to do. I teach theology in a fine Evangelical seminary, I get to preach in my local church as well as other places, and I get to write everything from my daily blog to articles to books.

I love sports and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed playing tennis with guys, many of whom are 1/2 my age. Occasionally, the teams I play on do well and “go to State.” I sincerely appreciate the guys I get to play with, some who are still “on the way” to faith in Christ.

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 9.10.55 AMThe Lord has been so gracious to me with my family. Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 9.28.38 AMMy dear wife of almost 44 years, my two children, our four grandchildren — surely, as Psalm 16:6 says, “The lines are fallen unto me in pleasant places; yea, I have a goodly heritage.”

For those of you who read my blog, let me say “Thank you!”  I enjoy writing my blog and deeply appreciate those of you what follow it.

Would you consider praying for me today — that the Lord in His grace Screen Shot 2015-01-31 at 8.34.57 AMwould give me many more years to serve Him?  Thank you.  And if you could post a comment or two on my blog occasionally, it would be a great encouragement to this old man!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2015 in Groundhog's Day

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “Reflections on My 65th Birthday!

  1. William Patton

    February 2, 2015 at 6:57 am

    congratulations Larry! May the Lord continue to bless you and your family. I pray the Lord will give you many years to serve Him. Pass on to the next generation the goodness of the Lord. Have a fantastic day. Love you guys

     
  2. msadrianrenee

    February 2, 2015 at 7:22 am

    Happy Birthday Dr. D! Thanks for being such a blessing in my life. May you enjoy many more Birthdays as you continue to spread the Good News and equip others in God’s kingdom.

     
  3. Janet Francis

    February 2, 2015 at 8:40 am

    Happy Birthday Larry! May the Lord continues to bless you and keep you. All the very best to you and your family as you continue to serve Him. May you live to see many, many more birthdays. Have a blessed day!

     
  4. seabc thang

    February 2, 2015 at 8:53 am

    Happy Birthday!

    Kap

     
  5. Sharon Chesley Faulk

    February 2, 2015 at 9:09 am

    Dear Larry, Happy 65th! I will never forget that you have a Ground-Hog-Day Birthday! Thank you for all that you put in to my life at an early age. Thank you for blessing Jim and I by being a part of our wedding. Thank you for continuing to live out your faith consistently.

     
  6. Esther

    February 2, 2015 at 9:16 am

    Uncle! I thank The Lord for you and the blessing you are to me and many who know you or who have been encouraged by your life, your writing, or your teachings. The Lord had something very special in mind when He created you. I am so blessed to be a part of your fold. Your blogs, books, and teaching are a daily encouragement to me! Love you and praying for God to multiply your years on this planet for His glory!

     
  7. Melina Rabon

    February 2, 2015 at 9:27 am

    Happy Birthday! I prayed for you today that God would give you many more years to serve him!

     
  8. Helen

    February 2, 2015 at 3:06 pm

    Larry, This is the beginning of the most exciting season of your life. Really?!? Really.

     
  9. Rodney La Salvia

    February 3, 2015 at 10:01 am

    Belated Congratulations Dr. Dixon. From Caracas Venezuela. I’ll pray for you today since I didn’t check e-mail yesterday! My prayers and best wishes to you! my old table tennis partner betting an energy drink… I still remember deep theological conversations around a trivial ping pong game (or was it trivial conversations over a deep and professional table tennis game?) anyway, God bless you!

    Rodney LaSalvia

     

Leave a Reply

 
