RSS

Time for a Great Quote (John Piper)

08 Feb

“The critical question for our generation—and for every generation—Screen Shot 2015-01-10 at 7.25.28 AM
is this: If you could have heaven, with no sickness, and with all the friends you ever had on earth, and all the food you ever liked, and all the leisure activities you ever enjoyed, and all the natural beauties you ever saw, all the physical pleasures you ever tasted, and no human conflict or any natural disasters, could you be satisfied with heaven, if Christ were not there? ”
― John Piper, God Is the Gospel: Meditations on God’s Love as the Gift of Himself

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 8, 2015 in heaven

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Time for a Great Quote (John Piper)

  1. msadrianrenee

    February 8, 2015 at 5:31 pm

    Nope, only Christ can satisfy the deep longing within me. I’ve had my dream home and car plus family and friends, and life seemed perfect. However, there is a God-void in all of us. We were created to enjoy Him now and forever. God Himself is the only one who can fulfill us. “Perfect” conditions aren’t perfect without Him. It’s impossible for life to be perfect without Him.

     
  2. msadrianrenee

    February 8, 2015 at 5:34 pm

    In other words, I would not be satisfied without Him. I need Him, he is the only one who satisfies now and forever.

     
  3. John

    February 9, 2015 at 10:34 pm

    Where we be without The Lord?

     
    • msadrianrenee

      February 10, 2015 at 7:17 am

      I would be either dead or institutionalized without God. I never could have made it without the Lord. Yes, I’ve had a difficult life– both childhood and adult abuse and trauma. I’ve losted everything twice. The second time was worse than the first. By the grace of God, I am still here. When God becomes our reason for living, we have no reason to quit although I have been tempted to quit many times. God has sustained me. Life is a journey. Without the Lord, I would not be who I am or where I am today.

       

Leave a Reply

 
