RSS

Time for a Great Cartoon (life is unbearably tragic)

11 Jun

Screen Shot 2014-10-12 at 3.51.10 PM

Life doesn’t just seem tragic — it is tragic. This world is so broken only a Savior could redeem it.  That is precisely what biblical Christianity offers — a Savior who promises to forgive, then to begin the process of renewal!

The Bible teaches that this fallen world will be restored, will become the New Heavens and the New Earth.  Only new creatures will be fit to dwell in it.  Life is full of tragedies.  Only those who are in the Savior will realize that tragedy doesn’t have the last word!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2015 in tragedies

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “Time for a Great Cartoon (life is unbearably tragic)

  1. john

    June 11, 2015 at 11:37 am

    Larry,
    You need a good cup of coffee early in the morning, so that you can see how beautiful our world is. This is true even on a rainy stormy day! Only small minded people are bogged down by negative interpretations of normal world affairs and natural disasters. Nature has a wonderful way of making things right in the long way.
    The cartoon character Calvin shows clearly the ridiculous way how some misguided people look at our world. Those who do, deserve the miserable life they live in this world. No wonder they hope for a better life in another idealized world.

     
    • Dr. Larry Dixon

      June 12, 2015 at 7:40 am

      Great to hear from you, John.
      You are certainly right about my needing a cup of coffee (several, actually) in the morning. As you know “our” world is both beautiful and ugly — I’m sure you care about tsunamis and earthquakes and ebola and child abuse, etc. What explains both the wonder and the woundedness of our world? Nature is cruel and unmerciful toward the weak and the powerless. John, your characterization of some people as “small minded” and “misguided” (I guess because they don’t share your optimistic view of nature) seems to suggest a perspective on your part that revolts against the very idea of there being another world, an unbroken world, a world of peace and righteousness. Me thinketh thou protesteth too much. Blessings. Larry

       
  2. john

    June 13, 2015 at 5:09 am

    Larry,
    I am pleased to see that you do respond to my posts once in a while. To describe our world as beautiful, ugly or both is very much depending on our subjective view. I look at a tree, a flower or the birth of child with wonder in my heart and my mind about the wonderful way nature works. I don’t see nothing ugly in a tsunami or in an earthquake. They are the result of geological forces due to the evolution of our globe over time. Epidemics are hard on us humans, but are natures way to keep the population at sustainable levels. The same might be said for the never ending conflicts between warring factions of the world population. Crime in any form are deplorable, but can be minimized by deterring laws. All these do in no way alter my view that we should be grateful to live in such a wonderful world.
    I think you are wrong in suggesting that I revolt against the idea of another world. I reject the idea of another world with a high degree of probability that is higher than the probability of the existence (present or future) of a such an idealistic world that you envision.

     
    • Dr. Larry Dixon

      June 25, 2015 at 9:34 am

      John,
      So good to hear from you. Your statement, “I don’t see nothing ugly in a tsunami or in an earthquake” puzzles me, however. If you lost a loved one to a tsunami or an earthquake, would you feel the same? You are, at least, consistent with an evolutionary worldview which allows no room to “weep with those who weep” (as biblical Christianity encourages). Frankly, I see no reason in your worldview to care about anyone other than yourself (survival of the fittest?). I’m not sure how you can say “Crime in any form [is] deplorable.” But why? What’s the moral basis of your statement? You’re actually borrowing from the Bible’s view of right and wrong in your outrage. On this point, I think the first couple of chapters of “Mere Christianity” by C.S. Lewis would be quite helpful to you. Blessings. Larry

       
  3. john

    July 1, 2015 at 12:11 pm

    Larry,
    You have an incredible inconsistent worldview. On one side you deplore the world we life in, but you engage in sentiments of weeping and wooing when one loved one is taken away.
    Feb 8,2015 you used John Piper’s words to describe heaven: :No sickness, all your friends you had on earth are with you, you would have all the food you like, all the leisure activities you’re enjoyed, and all the natural beauties you ever saw, all the physical pleasures you ever tested, no human conflict, no natural disasters.
    Some years ago you you thanked all the people who prayed for you to recover from your heart surgery. With all the wonders of heaven that you believe so strongly, why would you hang on to this current world so strongly? I suspect that your “Certainty” is not as certain as you would like it to be.

     
    • Dr. Larry Dixon

      July 2, 2015 at 6:50 am

      Good morning, John.
      Thanks for your comments of July 1st. Let me make sure I understand what you’ve said.

      You say that I have an incredibly inconsistent worldview. You say that I “deplore” the world we live in. I’m not sure how you came to that conclusion about my view. You then used my quote of Piper to argue, I think, that heaven is wonderful. Your question, “Why would you hang on to this current world so strongly?” is a great question.

      Here’s what I believe about this world and the next. I believe this world is God’s good creation to be enjoyed and carefully used, but not worshiped (I Tim. 6). It will be renewed and all its brokenness healed when Jesus returns. But there is another world, another realm of existence beyond this one, and this world should get us ready for that world. Creation ought to be cared for (not exploited). The physical pleasures on this planet ought to be enjoyed to the glory of God, but this is not the only world there is.

      We can and should grieve the loss of loved ones who pass away, especially if we have little evidence that they have come to terms with the God we have all offended. To die without Jesus as one’s personal Savior is the worst thing that could ever happen to someone.

      I am not to love this worldly system that opposes God and the things of God (= “worldliness”), but to serve God in this world as best I can.

      To summarize, I agree with C.S. Lewis who said, “To love and admire anything outside yourself is to take one step away from utter spiritual ruin; though we shall not be well so long as we love and admire anything more than we love and admire God.” Even more, to love God allows us to love people more than those who don’t know God.  Lewis adds, “Because we love something else more than this world we love even this world better than those who know no other.”

       
  4. john

    July 3, 2015 at 11:39 am

    Larry.
    I think it is due to my limited vocabulary, that I used the word “deplore” when you only described the world as unbearable tragic and broken. Your expressed view that THIS world will be renewed and all its brokenness healed when Jesus returns appears to me as being as naive as a five year old one’s view of Santa Claus and the elves at the north pole.

    Your frequent quotes of C.S.Lewis and John Piper have as much credibility as the frequent statements of highly qualified medical doctors, that they have discovered secrets that if made widely known would bankrupt the pharmaceutical industry.

    Every Christian who believes in the nonsense of how the life in heaven is described by John Piper should have no fear of death. Now, tell me, why these people all struggle so much to prolong their life as long as possible if they should have the means to do so.

    John

     
  5. Dr. Larry Dixon

    July 6, 2015 at 6:15 am

    John:
    I’ve got to tell you — I’m disappointed with your weak comment posted on July 3. Your previous comments have often been carefully thought-out. This one seemed off-the-cuff, from-the-hip, and did not respond to anything that I said in my response to you on July 2. I take your thoughts seriously and try to respond carefully to them.

    Your July 3 comments call my view naive and nonsense. I thought you had a bit more respect for my worldview. I really don’t mind being your target, providing you an opportunity to rant against my Christian faith, but could it be that your anger at my view keeps you from seeing some of the points I’m making?

    Have you always hated the Christian gospel — or did something happen in your experience that embittered you to it?

    Just wondering. Blessings. Larry

     
  6. john

    July 6, 2015 at 11:56 am

    Larry,
    Why would you read into my mind hatefulness and anger ? I am neither hateful nor angry about your worldview. It is my honest thought, that saying “THIS world will be renewed and all its brockenness will be healed when Jesus returns” is sheer fantasy. You can quote Bible passages, or your favorite authors, or anything else you like, it won’t change my opinion that it is only fantasy and is not based on reality. Nonsense, in its loose interpretation means “it does not make sense”.
    John

     

Leave a Reply

 
