RSS

Psalms of My Life (Psalm 92)

11 Jul

Psalm 92

A psalm. A song. For the Sabbath day.Screen Shot 2015-04-01 at 7.55.56 AM

It is good to praise the Lord
    and make music to your name, O Most High,
proclaiming your love in the morning
    and your faithfulness at night,
to the music of the ten-stringed lyre
    and the melody of the harp.

For you make me glad by your deeds, Lord;
    I sing for joy at what your hands have done.
How great are your works, Lord,
    how profound your thoughts!
Senseless people do not know,
    fools do not understand,
that though the wicked spring up like grass
    and all evildoers flourish,
    they will be destroyed forever.

But you, Lord, are forever exalted.

For surely your enemies, Lord,
    surely your enemies will perish;
    all evildoers will be scattered.
10 You have exalted my horn[b] like that of a wild ox;
    fine oils have been poured on me.Screen Shot 2015-04-01 at 7.59.29 AM
11 My eyes have seen the defeat of my adversaries;
    my ears have heard the rout of my wicked foes.

12 The righteous will flourish like a palm tree,
    they will grow like a cedar of Lebanon;
13 planted in the house of the Lord,
    they will flourish in the courts of our God.
14 They will still bear fruit in old age,
    they will stay fresh and green,
15 proclaiming, “The Lord is upright;
    he is my Rock, and there is no wickedness in him.”

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 11, 2015 in the book of Psalms

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Psalms of My Life (Psalm 92)

  1. john

    July 11, 2015 at 7:45 pm

    Larry,
    Your observations makes me wonder how you can be offended when I call your world view naive.
    As it is quite obvious to you, I am not part of your God’s family. According to your observation(3) I am classified as senseless, a fool, wicked and an evildoer. This is on par with Donald Trumps assessment that Mexican immigrants are rapists and drug dealers.
    Hardly to be considered an intelligent assessment. As you don’t seem to know better, I take this insult in stride and consider it just as part of your naive world view.
    John

     
  2. Dr. Larry Dixon

    July 12, 2015 at 7:23 am

    John: I am not at all surprised that you feel insulted by what the Bible says about all of us in our natural condition before God. That description in Psalm 92 is universal. Before I trusted Christ as my Savior, I fit the category of the wicked, the foolish, an enemy of God. The fact that you won’t submit to the Bible’s description of someone who needs to give in to the truth of God grieves me. But your resistance doesn’t change the truth. As someone has said, “you will stand before the judgment of God whether you think you will or not.” Your view of God and His holiness is woefully small, my friend. And your view of your own goodness keeps you from casting yourself on the mercy of God. But I’m praying God will reach you despite your pride. He loves you enough not to give up on you. Blessings. Larry

     
  3. john

    July 13, 2015 at 6:11 pm

    Larry,
    How old was you when you started to trust Christ? Can you truly say that before this, you were senseless, a fool, wicked and an evildoer? What made you see the light? I have a very good conscience when I deny to have ever been an “evildoer”.
    You have a knack in trying to diminish my self appraisal. You speak of “my view of my own goodness” with a kind of derogatory implication that is just a shade above of an insult.
    You state that my view of God and His holiness is woefully small. My “God”, if I have to use this term, is Nature in its full glory. I see it everywhere, in the smallest and in the largest living creatures, in all the plant life, in all the celestial bodies that we see, and particularly in the wonderful laws of nature. There is no term in the English language that could adequately describe my appreciation of my sense of Nature.
    John

     
    • Dr. Larry Dixon

      July 14, 2015 at 7:55 am

      John:
      Always good to hear from you. I was 14 when I was confronted with the gospel and my sin and trusted Christ as my Savior. According to Scripture, yes, I was senseless, a fool, wicked, and an evildoer. The Bible isn’t saying that we are as wicked as we could be, but that we enter the world as sinners and show our nature by the things we do, don’t do, or think. We are also made in God’s image and are capable of good deeds, heroic sacrifices, and positive thoughts. We are both fallen and still in God’s image.

      You can deny that you are an “evildoer,” but if evil is defined as anything that doesn’t meet God’s holy standard, your denial contradicts not only Scripture but your own conscience.

      My knack in trying to diminish your self-appraisal is to hopefully help you see that you (like I before I believed the gospel) are a fool to follow your own self-diagnosis. Like a cancer patient who thinks he needs only an aspirin, we are woefully unprepared to self-evaluate. I mean no offense, but if you are offended, may I suggest it is because you don’t want to believe in a thoroughly holy God whom you have (like me) offended?

      I appreciate your grasp of nature’s beauties, but nature is not God. It too is fallen. Romans 1 speaks of the natural man who worships creation rather than the Creator. Does this offend you as well?

      John, I only want to be faithful to the teaching of the Bible. Someone once was faithful in sharing the gospel with me — and I thank God they weren’t afraid of “offending me.”

      Blessings.
      Larry

       
      • Anonymous

        August 4, 2015 at 3:11 pm

        Larry,
        I find it very hard to have a coherent discussion with someone like you, who is so set in his mind that he rules out anything that is not based on what is said in the Bible. And yet, there are so many things that I would very much like to discuss with you and hear your ideas and thoughts, even if they are not covered in the Bible.
        John

         
  4. john

    August 4, 2015 at 3:15 pm

    Sorry for the missing Avatar, I hate to write anything under the Anonymous Label
    John

     

Leave a Reply

 
