RSS

The Joy of Unit-Reading #1 (The Book of Titus)

24 Sep

Friends:
For years I have believed that much of the truth of the Bible can only be gleaned if we unit-read each book of God’s Word. Unit-reading is reading the entire book (for example, the book of Ezekiel) at one sitting. We so often read piecemeal — and miss the major theme of a Bible book.

Not all books of the Bible are meant to be read this way. The book of Psalms, for example, seems to be given as individual units (or as Books, some might say) that are designed to be sung individually.

My desire is to read all 65 (of the 66) books of the Bible in a unit-fashion. A serious Christian should be able to do that in 66 days! Even the longest book in the Bible (Isaiah with 66 chapters) can be profitably read in several hours.

Today I read the book of Titus (I start small!) and was impressed with the truth that —
Screen Shot 2015-09-23 at 6.52.56 AMScreen Shot 2015-09-23 at 11.00.40 AM

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “The Joy of Unit-Reading #1 (The Book of Titus)

  1. Anonymous

    September 24, 2015 at 5:24 am

    With men? How about women? Any possibility?

     
    • Dr. Larry Dixon

      September 24, 2015 at 6:30 am

      Thank you for your comment, Anonymous. I’m not sure what you mean by your question. (I seriously doubt any man can “unit-read” any woman!). Blessings. Dr. D.

       
  2. Rose Agema

    September 24, 2015 at 11:01 am

    If I let my thoughts wander, I could end up with the conclusion that I may be living under the law instead of grace. So I hope you’ll let me just share honestly.

    This is the first year, in my 12 years as a Christian, that I have the deepest desire to read the Bible through and I will say honestly it’s been huge for me to read God’s story as a whole.

    However, I find that in the time I spend reading the Bible and I do every day, that sometimes I almost feel like I try to read too much, without understanding. Then God reveals what he chooses when he chooses, but I don’t have immediate understanding.

    So, what I’m trying to say is that I need God’s grace even for reading his Word.
    Does that make any sense?

     

Leave a Reply

 
