RSS

Time for a Great Commercial! (The Logic of Our Choices!)

22 Oct

What a great commercial!  Our choices have consequences, don’t they?  I’m reminded of the much more serious quote from C.S. Lewis:

“[E]very time you make a choice you are turning the central part of you, Screen Shot 2015-10-03 at 8.59.06 AMthe part of you that chooses, into something a little different than it was before. And taking your life as a whole, with all your innumerable choices, all your life long you are slowly turning this central thing into a heavenly creature or a hellish creature: either into a creature that is in harmony with God, and with other creatures, and with itself, or else into one that is in a state of war and hatred with God, and with its fellow creatures, and with itself. To be the one kind of creature is heaven: that is, it is joy and peace and knowledge and power. To be the other means madness, horror, idiocy, rage, impotence, and eternal loneliness. Each of us at each moment is progressing to the one state of the other.”

1. Can you think of one choice you’ve made recently that had far-reaching consequences than you thought it would?
2. What biblical text would you share with a new believer about the importance of our choices?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2015 in choices

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Time for a Great Commercial! (The Logic of Our Choices!)

  1. Rose Agema

    October 22, 2015 at 8:39 am

    No, I don’t have a scripture I want to share. I just wanted to tell you of a time in my life that I was making choices, day in and day out, that caused me more heartache and tears than I could ever have imagined. I almost lost everything I ever valued because I was too blind to see. If there was ever anything that scared me straight, that was it. I don’t ever, ever want to go that way again.
    Thank you, God, for opening my eyes and healing that which was devastated by my choices.

     
  2. Janet McFatter

    October 24, 2015 at 1:15 pm

    Happened to read this passage this morning: I Samuel 13:1-14. Saul’s choice was “understandable” but still wrong — a great lesson.

     

Leave a Reply

 
