RSS

The Joy of Unit-Reading #8 (The Book of the Song of Solomon)

30 Nov

We are on a journey of unit-reading 65 of the 66 books of the Bible.  By “unit-reading,” we mean reading through the book at one sitting (I’m not sure the book of Psalms is meant to be read that way).  The overall theme or focus of many of the books of God’s Word will be readily seen when one sits down (with a strong cup of coffee or two) and reads straight through the book.

Today’s book is the Song of Songs or the Song of Solomon.  Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 6.40.26 AMThere is much that I do not understand about the “Song of Songs.”  The sections are divided into “She,” “Friends,” “He,” etc.  The expression our bed is “verdant” means “lush” or “grassy.”

The book overflows with compliments about the other’s physical beauty, attractiveness, desirability.  Some of the familiar expressions from the Song of Songs include:  “Let his banner over me be love.” (2:4)  “My beloved is mine and I am his” (2:16; 6:3).  My favorite is when he says to she:  “Your nose is like the tower of Lebanon
looking toward Damascus.” (7:4)!

In 1957 the singer Jimmie Rodgers sang “Kisses Sweeter Than Wine.”  It peaked at Billboard position #3.  The expression “kisses sweeter than wine” is from the Song of Songs.

Here are the other lyrics to Rodgers’ song (I especially Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 6.47.35 AMlike the line about being a grandfather!):

Well, when I was a young man never been kissed
I got to thinkin’ it over how much I had missed
So I got me a girl and I kissed her and then, and then
Oh, lordy, well I kissed ‘er again

Chorus
Because she had kisses sweeter than wine
She had, mmm, mmm, kisses sweeter than wine
(Sweeter than wine)

Well I asked her to marry and to be my sweet wife
I told her we’d be so happy for the rest of our life
I begged and I pleaded like a natural man
And then, whoops oh lordy, well she gave me her hand

Chorus

Well we worked very hard both me and my wife
Workin’ hand-in-hand to have a good life
We had corn in the field and wheat in the bin
And then, whoops oh lord, I was the father of twins

Chorus

Well our children they numbered just about four
And they all had a sweetheart a’knockin’ on the door
They all got married and they wouldn’t hesitate
I was, whoops oh lord, the grandfather of eight

Chorus

Well now that I’m old and I’m a’ready to go
I get to thinkin’ what happened a long time ago
Had a lot of kids, a lot of trouble and pain
But then, whoops oh lordy, well I’d do it all again

Because she had kisses sweeter than wine
She had, mmmkissessweeterthanwine

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 30, 2015 in unit-reading

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
