RSS

Daily Bible Reading? — or a Slow Fade (thoughts from my son)

13 Dec

Friends:  My son posted this the other day on his Facebook page.  It was Screenshot 2015-12-10 06.59.42so good, I had to steal it, I mean, borrow it!

“For years I’ve struggled to read the Bible consistently.
It seemed like just another “should” in my life. Like avoiding potato chips and doing a few push-ups each day.
Do you know what finally opened the door for me?
The movie War Room.
I know, it probably sounds ridiculous to say “a movie changed my life.”
But that movie really caused me to think about “the compound effect” in my heart and mind.
See, I understand that eating a handful of potato chips each day adds up to 47 large bags of potato chips each year. No thanks.
And one beer each night adds up to 31 gallons of beer each year. Disgusting.
But not reading my Bible each day leads to…
I wasn’t clear on what.

 And motivation comes from clarity.
When we are clear on our vision for the future and who we want to become, we make daily decisions and take tiny actions in that direction.
It’s either a slow fade or a slow build. Either way the process is slow.
The movie “The War Room” led me to consider the necessity of having a place in my home dedicated towards assisting in my own spiritual growth.
A place set aside where I can read, pray, and plan.
It’s only been a few months, but I’m starting to see the results of the power of habit.Screenshot 2015-12-10 07.05.36
And one of these is my knowledge of and confidence in the Bible.

 There is so much foolishness in our world today.
So much distraction.
Starting my day with the Bible has begun to open my eyes to so much that is broken in my own life.”

“All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right. God uses it to prepare and equip his people to do every good work.”
2 Timothy 3:16-17 NLT
‪#‎whatthebibleactuallysays‬ ‪#‎whowereallyare‬ ‪#‎letterstotimothy‬

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 13, 2015 in Bible reading

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
