RSS

Seven Lessons for Suffering Saints (a study of Hebrews): Part 6

04 Jan

In our church’s study of the book of Hebrews, I was tasked with preaching the final message in that series.  If you wish, you can access that message here:

.

We’ve seen the following principles from Hebrews about suffering (each followed by a question):Screenshot 2015-12-16 06.10.35

Principle #1: The Lord Jesus suffered the worst life can bring — DEATH! (2:9). “How dare I ever feel that Jesus can’t understand my suffering?”

Principle #2: God used suffering to perfect the Pioneer of our salvation! (2:10).  “How dare I resist His using suffering to perfect me?!”

Principle #3: Remembering our sufferings brings believers together to support & encourage each other!  How dare I waste my suffering by forgetting the past or not standing with those suffering in the present?!

Principle #4: Experiencing loss focuses our longing on the next life’s better and lasting possessions! (10:34).  “How dare I allow myself to be captivated by this world’s stuff?!” Screenshot 2015-12-17 06.13.04

Principle #5: Suffering loss in this world should not dampen our confidence in the rich rewards of the next world! (10:35).  How dare I act like a pagan and give all my attention to this world and its things?!

Today’s principle is simply this:  Principle #6: Persevering in this life and doing the will of God will bring the pleasure of God and full salvation! (10:36-39). We get this principle from the following verses:

36 You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised. 37 For, “In just a little while,Screenshot 2015-12-17 06.40.35
he who is coming will come
and will not delay.”
38 And, “But my righteous one will live by faith.
And I take no pleasure
in the one who shrinks back.”
39 But we do not belong to those who shrink back and are destroyed, but to those who have faith and are saved.

The question I would ask here is:  How dare I give up, shrink back, and not live by faith in the One coming back for me?!  The Bible is clear that there are three aspects to our salvation:  I have been saved, I am being saved, and I will be saved.

Tempted to give up?  to shrink back?  to not live by faith?  DON’T DO IT!

Your thoughts?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 4, 2016 in suffering

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
