RSS

Happy Groundhog’s Day! (My birthday)

02 Feb

Today is my 66th birthday.  Really.  I am so grateful for the Lord’s goodness to me over the years (okay, the decades!).  I am very thankful for my wife Linda of almost 45 years, for my two children Brian and Amy, and for my/our six grandchildren!  I praise the Lord for my son-in-law Thom (who is a youth pastor in NC) and for my daughter-in-law Julie who is a terrific mom!

Yes, I’ve seen the movie Groundhog’s Day.  I personally think that any warm, subterranean creature who ventures out of his cave to prognosticate about the weather deserves to have his day declared a national holiday!  I thought you’d enjoy this Fiat commercial which features the little critter!

My two youngest grandsons!

My two youngest grandsons!

 

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2016 in Groundhog's Day

 

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “Happy Groundhog’s Day! (My birthday)

  1. dafoolchillypop

    February 2, 2016 at 7:21 am

    Happy birthday theoprof…hope you have a great day and don’t forget to take your centrum silver…

     
    • Dr. Larry Dixon

      February 2, 2016 at 9:14 am

      Thank you, my friend, for lunch yesterday and your best wishes for me. Ummm, where did I put my Centrum Silver? Blessings. larry

       
  2. Sharon Faulk

    February 2, 2016 at 8:51 am

    Happy Birthday, Larry! Grateful for your life and friendship. Grateful for your choice of beautiful Linda. Grateful for the influence you had on my life in college and for the part you took in my own wedding.

     
    • Dr. Larry Dixon

      February 2, 2016 at 9:15 am

      You are the best, Sharon! Thanks for the best wishes — and for continuing to read my blog! Blessings on you and yours. Larry

       
  3. Nat Reed

    February 2, 2016 at 9:24 am

    Happy birthday, Larry. Seems like only yesterday that you and Jay Phelan were doing your hilarious Smothers Brothers routine at Emmaus. All the best.
    Nat Reed

     
    • Dr. Larry Dixon

      February 2, 2016 at 3:33 pm

      Nat: So kind of you to write. Blessings on you for reading my blog! Larry

       
  4. john

    February 2, 2016 at 2:15 pm

    Happy Birthday Larry. It must be nice to be so young. Birthdays are the days when you reflect on your past and the accomplishments you have achieved. You might also think of the years ahead. For these I wish you many, and hope they will by joyful and full of happiness.
    John

     
    • Dr. Larry Dixon

      February 2, 2016 at 3:33 pm

      John: So good to hear from you. I think of you often and am grateful for your friendship. Larry

       
  5. Anonymous

    February 3, 2016 at 11:04 pm

    Happy Birthday!

     
  6. Eric Zhou

    February 3, 2016 at 11:09 pm

    Dr. D, Happy Birthday! Thanks so very much for your blog for your devotional sharing. Thanks for your Greek class as well. It is a good grief! Peace in Him!

    Eric

     

Leave a Reply

 
