RSS

Time for a Great Cartoon! (Secret of Happiness)

06 Mar

Screenshot 2016-01-05 20.01.10

Our lives are made up of a multitude of “moments,” aren’t they? Some are pleasurable, some — not so much. You may have heard the story of an elderly sister in Christ who was asked the question, “What is your favorite Bible verse?” She thought about her life and the many deep waters the Lord had taken her through, and she said, “My favorite verse is ‘And it came to PAST!”

Are you going through some moments now that you wish would become the past? I was greatly encouraged the other day by reading through the book of Lamentations. In the midst of all of his legitimate complaints, Jeremiah writes —

22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions [mercies] never fail.
23 They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
24 I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion;
therefore I will wait for him.”

My problem is that I sometimes live on what a Screenshot 2016-01-28 05.51.36preacher called “stale mercies.”  When I was a kid, every morning was an adventure of reading the cereal boxes when we had breakfast.  Sometimes they were fascinating; sometimes they held the promise of a prize at the bottom.  My brother and I would occasionally fight over which cereal box each of us got to read.

I think we Christians have had too many breakfasts of God’s “stale mercies.”  His mercies are NEW every morning, waiting for us, reminding us of His compassions and His greatness.

Your thoughts?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 6, 2016 in happiness

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
