RSS

Psalms of the Salter: Some Thoughts on Really Living for the Lord (Psalm 3)

15 Jul

In preparation for teaching a course on the book of Psalms, I thought it would be helpful for me (over the next few months) to go through the Psalter again. Today’s Psalm is Psalm 3 which reads:

Psalm 3
A psalm of David. When he fled from his son Absalom.
Screen Shot 2016-07-10 at 5.31.38 AM
1 Lord, how many are my foes!
How many rise up against me!
2 Many are saying of me,
“God will not deliver him.”

3 But you, Lord, are a shield around me,
my glory, the One who lifts my head high.
4 I call out to the Lord,
and he answers me from his holy mountain.

5 I lie down and sleep;
I wake again, because the Lord sustains me.
6 I will not fear though tens of thousands
assail me on every side.

7 Arise, Lord!
Deliver me, my God!
Strike all my enemies on the jaw;
break the teeth of the wicked.

8 From the Lord comes deliverance.
May your blessing be on your people.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 15, 2016 in Psalm 3

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
