RSS

Lessons I’m Learning in the Loss of My Teaching Position (Part 3 of 4)

22 Jul

Friends:

Many of you know that I have been teaching theology and other Screen Shot 2016-07-02 at 8.24.12 PMsubjects at Columbia International University for about 19 years.  That chapter in my life has now come to an end.
Because of declining enrollment in the seminary and the need to get Screen Shot 2016-07-02 at 8.15.35 PMthe budget in line with our upcoming accreditation visit, I and nine other CIU employees were let go:  four faculty and six staff.  It was a sad day when we each learned that our contracts would not be renewed for the coming year.

But God is faithful — and we are keeping a list of how He is meeting our needs!  Here are several items on that list —

1.  The Lord (almost immediately) gave me the opportunity to teach a survey of Bible doctrine course to lifers at the Kirkland prison.

2.  I’ve been preaching the month of July in Augusta (in a church whose pastor is battling cancer) and we’ve been a mutual encouragement to each other.

3.  My wife Linda has been a real trooper in standing by me and encouraging me in this time of possible self-doubt and discouragement.

But there are some tears.  Here’s a song by Danny Gokey that expresses some of what I’ve been going through.  And thank you for your prayers for us.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 22, 2016 in unemployment

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Lessons I’m Learning in the Loss of My Teaching Position (Part 3 of 4)

  1. Anonymous

    July 23, 2016 at 10:50 am

    Thanks for sharing your heart and it helps to know how to continue to pray for you.

     
  2. Melina Rabon

    July 23, 2016 at 10:51 am

    Sorry, forgot to leave my name! : ) Love you and Linda – the rabon family

     
    • Dr. Larry Dixon

      July 23, 2016 at 11:00 am

      You guys are the best! Thank you. Larry & Linda

       

Leave a Reply

 
