RSS

Lessons I’m Learning in the Loss of My Teaching Position (Part 4 of 4)

13 Aug

Friends:

Many of you know that I have been teaching theology and other Screen Shot 2016-07-02 at 8.24.12 PMsubjects at Columbia International University for about 19 years.  That chapter in my life has now come to an end.
Because of declining enrollment in the seminary and the need to get Screen Shot 2016-07-02 at 8.15.35 PMthe budget in line with our upcoming accreditation visit, I and nine other CIU employees were let go:  four faculty and six staff.  It was a sad day when we each learned that our contracts would not be renewed for the coming year.

Linda and I are slowly learning to trust the Lord for the next steps. If you have room on your prayer list, here’s how you can pray for us —
1. That we would have wisdom in making decisions about Social Security, part-time jobs, opportunities to preach the Word and help out other schools in teaching courses.
2. That we would be faithful in the responsibilities He gives us right now!
3. That we would be open to whatever ministry He gives us next. We would prefer not to move (our six grandkids are all within an hour and a half of us), but we want His will above all else.

Here are a couple of part-time jobs I’m pursuing while applying for teaching opportunities:

Screen Shot 2016-07-25 at 5.45.12 PM

I’ve started a small pressure-washing business in my neighborhood. I’m also re-purposing vintage wooden tennis racquets (you can check out my Etsy store (called “Wooden You Rather”) here. And, I’ll probably try my hand at driving for UBER!

My heart is in preaching and teaching the Word of God — so let me know if your church would like to host a “Theology Matters” conference!

 

3 Comments

Posted by on August 13, 2016 in job loss

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Lessons I’m Learning in the Loss of My Teaching Position (Part 4 of 4)

  1. Hallie Booth

    August 13, 2016 at 9:47 am

    Will certainly bring these matters with you before our God who is able to do exceedingly above what we ask or think. I have appreciated your teaching ministry and pray that it would please the Lord to allow you to continue in that place. Sincerely, Hallie Booth

     
  2. Anonymous

    August 13, 2016 at 11:13 am

    Larry: I continue to pray as I have all along. May you be aware of God’s guidance and leading each moment. As i see it, the loss of your job was totally beyond your control. Thus, by definition, God was/is at work. His purpose and goal when reached will prove to be worth the anguish of getting there. Tom Baird

     
  3. Anonymous

    August 13, 2016 at 5:41 pm

    you are always in our prayer list.. and many other Chinese students. Your rewards are great in Heaven.

     

Leave a Reply

 
