RSS

Preparing for the Christian Ministry Seminars at Emmaus Bible College Feb. 6-7, 2017

11 Jan

Friends:

I’ve been invited to speak at Emmaus Bible College’s “Christian Ministry Seminars” this next month.  Past speakers have challenged the college students to give themselves to camping ministries, justice organizations, etc.screen-shot-2017-01-08-at-5-34-42-am  Perhaps because I’ve been in academia for over thirty years, I’ve been encouraged to give a series on a teaching/educational ministry.  The theme that immediately came to my mind was “Anti-Intellectualism Isn’t Spirituality.”  Here’s what I hope to accomplish in my four messages to the Emmaus student body:

Message #1- Message Thesis: “Our own history & the mood of the moment mitigate against the Christian’s use of the mind to love the Lord.”  I want to define anti-intellectualism and spirituality, as well as reflect a bit on both our Brethren history which discourages theological training and our present culture which assumes the Bible and Jesus-followers are opposed to the life of the mind.

Message #2- Message Thesis: “The Lord Jesus Christ, as our divine/human model, extolled and modeled the use of one’s mind in loving God in this world.”  I will survey how Jesus challenged us to love God with our minds and examine some of His use of both offensive and defensive logic in His earthly life.

Message #3-  Message Thesis: “The Apostle Paul in screen-shot-2017-01-08-at-5-38-50-amActs 17 models for us an engagement with his culture which uses his mind, connects him with his audience, and advances the gospel.” I look forward to going through Paul’s sermon on Mars Hill and seeing how God uses his intellect in reaching a diverse group of thinkers.  Not only was Paul not wrong in his approach, but he provides principles for us in reaching our post-Christian and anti-Christian world.

Message #4- Message Thesis: “There are specific, practical implications of a mind devoted to loving God in our world.”
Here I want to challenge all of us to take steps to connect with our lost world, to develop relationships with our lost friends, and to advance in our commitment to the godly use of our minds.  Some of the practical steps will include:  getting serious about friendships, surrendering our academic aspirations to the Lord, courageously critiquing our culture’s rejection of God (including reading what I call “Boiling Books” and doing good research), and some of us pursuing positions of influence in higher educational institutions.

Would a few of you commit to praying for me as I prepare these messages?  Let me know in the comment section below if you will lift me up before the Lord for this opportunity to influence these young people.

 

 

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2017 in the mind

 

Tags: , , , ,

14 responses to “Preparing for the Christian Ministry Seminars at Emmaus Bible College Feb. 6-7, 2017

  1. Mike Thigpen

    January 11, 2017 at 2:13 pm

    Larry,

    I’ll be praying!

    Mike

     
    • Dr. Larry Dixon

      January 13, 2017 at 4:57 am

      Mike: Thank you so much. I deeply appreciate your commitment to praying for me! Larry

       
  2. Bill Coyle

    January 11, 2017 at 2:36 pm

    Larry, I will pray for you as you prepare your messages for the students at Emmaus. Some time ago we talked about the possibility of you teaching for a few weeks at the Bible school in Myanmar. Now that you are “at liberty,” would you be interested in teaching there this summer or fall? Bill

     
    • Dr. Larry Dixon

      January 13, 2017 at 5:00 am

      Bill: Thank you for praying for this conference and for the Lord leading me in my messages. I am presently serving as a part-time interim full-time worker in a church in Georgia. I’m committed to every Sunday preaching. I’m still very interested in Myanmar. May I let you know when that preaching position is over? Thanks. Larry

       
  3. EileenLooby

    January 11, 2017 at 2:50 pm

    Dear brother Larry, I will be praying for you as you present God’s word of love and compassion to a lost world as well as reminding us of what and where God rescued us from.

     
    • Dr. Larry Dixon

      January 13, 2017 at 5:01 am

      Thank you, Eileen, for lifting me up before the Lord for this conference! Blessings. Larry

       
  4. Kenneth W. Bowles

    January 12, 2017 at 12:40 am

    I would like to hear the messages!!

     
    • Dr. Larry Dixon

      January 13, 2017 at 5:02 am

      Thank you, Ken. I’ll try to let you know if they are recording them. Blessings. Larry

       
  5. John

    January 12, 2017 at 4:02 pm

    Absolutely. Agree with you on Brethren piece.

     
    • Dr. Larry Dixon

      January 13, 2017 at 5:02 am

      Thank you, John, for lifting me up before the Lord. Remind me of your last name? Blessings. Larry

       
  6. Anonymous

    January 14, 2017 at 9:55 am

    Love this opportunity the LORD has given you. Will be praying for you as you prepare these messages- the interesting part for me is that I just had our church secretary make a sign for my Sunday School Class that says: “Turning the World Upside Down for Jesus” based on Acts 17:6! Blessings!

     
  7. Helen Baldwin

    January 14, 2017 at 9:59 am

    I pressed the button too early…the last comment is from me 🙂

     
    • Dr. Larry Dixon

      January 14, 2017 at 7:22 pm

      Thank you for your kind words, Helen. See you in church tomorrow! Blessings. Larry

       
  8. Brenda Johnson

    January 19, 2017 at 11:03 am

    Hi Dr. Dixon, I will be praying for The Holy Spirit
    to use you to touch their hearts.

    Brenda Johnson

     

Leave a Reply

 
