RSS

Rantings of an Old Curmudgeon! (Social Media)

03 Feb

screen-shot-2017-01-25-at-4-50-23-amOkay.  Okay. So I just turned 67.  I don’t feel 67.  Some days I don’t feel older than, say, 62.  But I’ve got a lot of life left in me.  And a lot of things get me goin’!

Today’s topic is . . . MEDIA.  Much of the media I see isn’t very social!  My wife and I went out for supper the other night, yes, around 4:30 or 5 pm (I can’t remember which), and we watched other couples at this restaurant.  Guess what they were doing?  Husband, wife — they were both checking their phones.  They weren’t talking to each other.  What’s SOCIAL about that?

Even worse is when there’s a child involved.  Instead of talking with their child, explaining how people ought to behave in public, their child is playing video games on a $600 tablet.   Head down (not in prayer), but in battle strategy.  No one’s talking to each other.  That just ticks me off — makes me want to go over there and say something like, “Are you people a family?  screen-shot-2017-01-25-at-5-03-24-amExcuse me.  Now that I have your attention.  Do you people live in the same house?  Why aren’t you talking with one another?  If you pay for our dinner (we share one entree), we’ll come over and show you how it’s done.”

I would then say, “If you won’t invite us over, at least let me show you how to FaceTime each other.”

 

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2017 in social media

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Rantings of an Old Curmudgeon! (Social Media)

  1. Al

    February 3, 2017 at 8:45 am

    Couldn’t agree more! How about some eye to eye time, and maybe even talk to me!

     
  2. Robert Sullivan

    February 3, 2017 at 8:54 am

    Happy Birthday Dr. Dixon! Blessings.

    Robert

    On Fri, Feb 3, 2017 at 5:10 AM, Dr. Larry E. Dixon wrote:

    > Dr. Larry Dixon posted: “Okay. Okay. So I just turned 67. I don’t feel > 67. Some days I don’t feel older than, say, 62. But I’ve got a lot of > life left in me. And a lot of things get me goin’! Today’s topic is . . . > MEDIA. Much of the media I see isn’t very social! My wi” >

     
  3. Lew ISB

    February 3, 2017 at 10:09 am

    I couldn’t agree more!

     
  4. Sally Berk

    February 3, 2017 at 11:41 am

    Yes, and it will affect our relationships and probably our ability to think and interact with civility and empathy. Hope your birthday was fun and the start of a great year, in which you experience even more respect and admiration from your friends and family now that you’re older and wiser. : )

     
  5. Pat + Bonnie in Winnipeg......

    February 3, 2017 at 6:44 pm

    Hi Larry —– Couldn’t agree more !!! I’ll date myself, but my thing in the same genre was taking my girls out for breakfast on Saturday mornings and having a good visit with them, and after visiting they went into the play room to do their thing !!! In those times there was no phones/tablets BUT people would bring the newspaper and sit across from each other reading and occasionally referring each other to an article. The situation that peeved me the most was when a father would bring his son/daughter for breakfast and sit and read the paper. Like you and Linda I felt like swiping the paper out of his hands and asking him why he did bothered to bring his child at all !!! (maybe to give mom a break ??? Bonnie + I continue to pray for you folks and hope things go well for you @ Emmaus……

     

Leave a Reply

 
