RSS

Insight from a Blind Man (A Study of John 9) Part 19

13 Apr

screen-shot-2017-03-06-at-5-25-29-am“Somewhere out there is a tree, tirelessly producing oxygen so you can breathe.  I think you owe it an apology.” That’s a great insult!

I haven’t had insults hurled at me since, well, never! I guess that means I’ve never been in a situation — a standoff — with angry, religious gestapo who want to kill Jesus.

And then they talk about DISCIPLESHIP!  “You are this fellow’s disciple! We are disciples of Moses.”  But were they?

In John 5, the Jewish leaders began to persecute Jesus.  We read, “17 In his defense Jesus said to them, “My Father is always at his work to this very day, and I too am working.” 18 For this reason they tried all the more to kill him; not only was he breaking the Sabbath, but he was even calling God his own Father, making himself equal with God.”  Later Jesus says, “45 “But do not think I will accuse you before the Father. Your accuser is Moses, on whom your hopes are set. 46 If you believed Moses, you would believe me, for he wrote about me. 47 But since you do not believe what he wrote, how are you going to believe what I say?”

Hmmm.  Jesus didn’t think they were very good disciples of Moses.  Jesus refers to Moses as “your accuser” and logically argues, “If you believed Moses, you would believe me.”  I wonder:  What steps had the Pharisees taken that had removed them from being disciples even of Moses(to be continued)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 13, 2017 in discipleship

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
