Tag Archives: The Five Love Languages

What’s So Amazing about Grace? — A Free Sermon Outline! (Part 5)

On the other hand, I’m not sure my little booklet, Ten Specific Steps You Can Take to Make Your Sermons and Preaching Better! (available on Amazon), can help Joel Osteen.  He seems to have pretty good communication skills. It’s what he communicates that is the problem!  At any rate, if you want to have your best life now, then get this booklet!

Now that the commercial is over, we’ve been sharing some of our favorite sermon outlines and we’ve been looking at the topic —

What’s So Amazing about Grace?
(a study of Titus 2:11-15).

We’ve seen that —

I. God’s Grace Is a Salvation-Bringing Grace (v. 11)

and that —

II. God’s Grace is a Teaching Grace (v. 12)

and that —

III. God’s Grace Is a Waiting Grace (v. 13)

and also that —

IV. God’s Grace Is a Purifying Grace (v. 14)

Let’s notice lastly, that —

V.  God’s Grace Is an Encouraging Grace (v. 15)!

By God’s grace we are to encourage others to pursue the Lord and to turn away from the things in life that inhibit our becoming more like Jesus.  We should teach these things.  We should rebuke with all authority.  We shouldn’t allow other people’s opinions to keep us from living for the Lord!  We should encourage the people of God!

If you’ve not read Gary Chapman’s The Five Love Languages, you’re missing a very helpful way of looking at life.  We love and are loved in different ways.  The five love languages are words of affirmation, acts of service, quality time, physical touch, and receiving gifts.  These describe both how we love and how we wish to be loved.

My love language (how I feel loved) is primarily words of affirmation.  My wife’s primary love language (how she feels loved) is quality time.  Some of us show our love to others in ways that don’t “fit” how they most feel loved.  It’s a bit complicated.  In summary, I feel most loved when others give me gifts, say nice things to me, and let me spend quality time (as an introvert) by myself.  (I’m kidding.  Mostly).

We all need words of encouragement.  And that’s what God’s grace gives us — a solid foundation to encourage others! (next post — conclusion)


Leave a comment

Posted by on August 19, 2018 in God's grace


Tags: , , , ,

The Five Love Languages (a humorous look)

Screen Shot 2015-02-15 at 8.01.36 AMGary Chapman has provided an excellent discussion of how we love others — and how we prefer to be loved.

The five love languages Chapman describes are:

1. Words of Affirmation  “If this is your love language, you feel most cared for when your partner is open and expressive in telling you how wonderful they think you are, how much they appreciate you, etc.”

2. Acts of Service  “If your partner’s offering to watch the kids so you can go to the gym (or relieving you of some other task) gets your heart going, then this is your love language.”

3. Affection  “This love language is just as it sounds. A warm hug, a kiss, touch, and sexual intimacy make you feel most loved when this is your love language.”

4. Quality Time  “This love language is about being together, fully present and engaged in the activity at hand, no matter how trivial.”

5. Gifts  “Your partner taking the time to give you a gift can make you feel appreciated.”

A humorous look at the Five Love Languages:

I’m well aware that my wife Linda and I are different.  She’s pretty.  I’m not.  She’s thin.  I want to be.  Someday.  Her love language is giving.  Mine’s receiving. (Wait!  That’s not a love language.  Darn list).   How do I like to be loved?   Welllll . . . (sorry!).   Uh, words of affirmation really make me feel important.  But her love language is giving.

Screenshot 2015-12-20 06.50.40So, whenever I preach at our church or somewhere else, and she’s in the audience, I ask her right after the service, “How did I do?”  She usually says, “fine.”  That’s it!  “Fine.”  She doesn’t go into any detail.  Doesn’t use other synonyms for “fine.”  Her response is one four-letter word . . . “fine.”  One nice word hardly meets the quota for “words (plural) of affirmation”!  But if I did really a good job in my sermon, the next day — she buys me a new pair of socks!  That’s how she shows she loves me!

I wish I could say that my sock drawer is bursting at the seams, but it isn’t.  Not all of them are paired, in fact.  And some of them lack a mate.  (I imagine the wayward socks had the love language of “acts of service” — to someone else!).

There’s how we love and how we like to be loved.  I like to be loved by words of affirmation, given with copious amounts of hugs and kisses, while my wife is letting me watch 9 hours of football, as she’s going out to buy me socks!  She likes to be loved by quality time.  With me.  And acts of service.  Like putting new batteries in the grandkids’ toys or pressure-washing the sidewalk or cleaning up the attic or doing the laundry or building a new storage shed or helping her find her honey-do list of jobs for me to complete around the house.  Sometimes I want to try out some of the other love languages on her:  “Good work pressure-washing the dog, Dear!”  “Want to spend some quality time with me at Cabelas looking for new weapons to take down Bambi?”  “Honey, I just love the way you change the grandkids’ diapers during the hockey, basketball, football, and baseball seasons.  Really.”

What’s your love language?  Talk it over with your significant other today.  Maybe even buy each other some socks.

Leave a comment

Posted by on December 30, 2015 in The Five Love Languages


Tags: , , ,

Time for a Great Cartoon! (need for affection)

Screen Shot 2014-10-12 at 7.21.29 PM

All of us need to be loved. Gary Chapman wrote a great book entitled The Five Love Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 1.46.04 PMLanguages.  He has developed a cottage industry from his original idea of the five love languages.  He has written books with such titles as The 5 Love Languages for Men, The 5 Love Languages Singles Edition, The 5 Love Languages Military Edition, The 5 Love Languages of Teenagers, The 5 Love Languages of Children, The Heart of the Five Love Languages, The Love Languages Devotional Bible, and The Five Languages of Apology.  Whew!  Looking at the graphic below, what is the primary way you seek to show love to others?  Which is the way you most appreciate love being shown to you?

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 1.37.25 PM

Leave a comment

Posted by on May 4, 2015 in love


Tags: , ,