RSS

Ruminating on ROMANS! (Some Thoughts on Paul’s Great Epistle) #2

27 Nov

Many of you know that my New Jersey friend Frank and I are reading through God’s Word together (described here). We’re now in the book of Romans and are reading chapter 1 each day this week. Here is something that I noticed in reading this chapter:

The reason Paul’s not ashamed of the gospel is because it is God’s power to save – – anyone! But only those who believe.

Paul defines the gospel as “the power of God that brings salvation.” We in our sinful condition are powerless to save ourselves, even when we thought we could! Only God’s power can rescue and redeem lost sinners!

And what is the purpose of that gospel? To reveal the righteousness of God! We know that God is righteous — and that we are not. How does the gospel reveal the righteousness of God? Because His righteousness is given us . . . by FAITH. Not by our works, but by His grace through faith in Christ.

How could one possibly be ashamed of this kind of gospel?! I love the statement by pastor Steve Brown when he says, “When I share the gospel with people, I’m worried about what people will think about Christ. And about what they will think about me. But mostly, about what they will think about me.”

 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 27, 2020 in Romans 1

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Ruminating on ROMANS! (Some Thoughts on Paul’s Great Epistle) #2

Leave a comment