RSS

Some Musings on Hebrews 13 (Part 2)

25 Sep

As I have often mentioned in this blog, my friend Frank and I have an agreement. We read the same chapter in God’s Word each day for a week and then drop each other a short email about what we have learned. We then move to the next chapter the next week. I describe our modest online Bible study here. You might want to try this with a friend or relative.

We are finishing up our reading of the book of Hebrews. And there is much in this final chapter that I just have to go over with you. Let’s look at the next verse:

Wow, if there’s one Christian concept that is attacked vigorously in our culture, it is traditional, monogamous, heterosexual, life-long marriage! We believers owe it to the Lord to make our marriages work! When people ask me what the secret is to our 50 years of marriage, I say, “Well, it takes THREE!” They then look at me as if we’re Mormons! “No,” I say. “The LORD right in the middle!”

And the writer’s admonition is not merely something that should be crocheted and put in a frame. The marriage bed is to be “kept pure”! Why? Because God will judge those whose sexual behavior is outside the holy bond of matrimony!

Today’s Challenge:  Married? Then show by your behavior that you honor marriage and are practicing your sexuality within that loving relationship of fidelity. Unmarried? Pray hard for those you know who are married that they would allow the Lord to be that “Third”!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 25, 2021 in Hebrews 13

 

Tags: ,

Leave a comment