RSS

Some Musings on Hebrews 13 (Part 4)

29 Sep

As I have often mentioned in this blog, my friend Frank and I have an agreement. We read the same chapter in God’s Word each day for a week and then drop each other a short email about what we have learned. We then move to the next chapter the next week. I describe our modest online Bible study here. You might want to try this with a friend or relative.

We are finishing up our reading of the book of Hebrews. And there is much in this final chapter that I just have to go over with you. Let’s look at the next verse:

Choosing to keep our lives free from the love of money and learning to be content with what we have flow from an understanding of God’s abiding presence with us. He has promised never to leave or forsake us!

Taking that perspective on our lives and our possessions should lead us to make a declaration — a confident declaration: “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can mere mortals do to me?” (v. 6).

https://thumbs.gfycat.com/FamiliarConfusedArgentinehornedfrog-size_restricted.gifGreat question! What can mere mortals do to me? Well, they can rob me of my stuff, but they can’t steal my joy in Jesus. They can swindle me out of my retirement funds, but they can’t bar me from heaven. They can take away my earthly goods, but they can’t separate me from my heavenly Savior.

Today’s Challenge: The antidote to fear is faith in the Lord, in His help, in His abiding and sustaining presence. Be confident today, my friend, not in yourself or your stuff, but in Your Savior!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 29, 2021 in Hebrews 13

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment